India states and capitals list

Photo of author
Written By Santana

Unveiling India's Treasures from the eyes of an insightful author

India states and capitals list: India is situated in Southern Asia. It is the seventh-largest and second most populated country with more than 1.4 billion people. The constitution of India is governed by the parliamentary system representing 27 states and 10 union territories.

India falls in the Asia continent. India mainly forms a peninsula, which means that its surrounded by the sea on 3 sides. It has the world’s highest Himalaya mountain range in the north. To the southeast, it has borders to the Bay of Bengal, and to the southwest, it shares borders with the Arabian Sea.

India has borders with many countries. It has land borders with seven countries namely China, Bhutan, Nepal, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and Myanmar. India shares water borders with countries i.e. Sri Lanka, Maldives, and Indonesia.

Delhi is the capital of India with a population of around 10 million people. Mumbai is called the financial capital of India with a population of 10 million people.

There is no other country as diverse as India. According to the Census of India of 2001, India has a total of 122 languages and 234 mother tongues with 41% of the population speaking the Hindi language followed by Bengali 8%, and Telegu 7%. We have a mix of people of all religions and festivals are celebrated all year long.

There is lot more to talk about in India, but let us stick to the topic.

Here are India’s states and capitals list – 27 states and 10 union territories.

Sr.No State or Union Territory Capital City
1 Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair
2 Andhra Pradesh Visakhapatnam
3 Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
4 Assam Dispur
5 Bihar Patna
6 Chandigarh Chandigarh
7 Chhattisgarh Raipur
8 Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Daman
9 Delhi New Delhi
10 Goa Panaji
11 Gujarat Gandhinagar
12 Haryana Chandigarh
13 Himachal Pradesh Shimla
14 Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar
15 Jharkhand Ranchi
16 Karnataka Bengaluru
17 Kerala Thiruvananthapuram
18 Ladakh Leh
19 Lakshadweep Kavaratti
20 Madhya Pradesh Bhopal
21 Maharashtra Mumbai
22 Manipur Imphal
23 Meghalaya Shillong
24 Mizoram Aizawl
25 Nagaland Kohima
26 Odisha Bhubaneswar
27 Puducherry Pondicherry
28 Punjab Chandigarh
29 Rajasthan Jaipur
30 Sikkim Gangtok
31 Tamil Nadu Chennai
32 Telangana Hyderabad
33 Tripura Agartala
34 Uttar Pradesh Lucknow
35 Uttarakhand Dehradun
36 West Bengal Kolkata
India states and capitals list
Peacock with multi-colored feathers.

Above is India states and capitals list

Also Read :

  1. Shortest Road trips in India
  2. North East of India – The 7 sisters of India’s Geography

Leave a Reply